Chungking Espresso

Sleeper Hit review digest October 12-29

Posted in Game Analysis by Simon Ferrari on November 2, 2009

I’ve been neglecting posting here, because school work is ridiculous and I’m busy writing things non-casually for News Games and Sleeper Hit. I’ve been working at Sleeper Hit for a little under a month now, and I’m finally getting into a groove for product reviewing. I’m still trying to figure out how to mix in personal touches without being too NGJ and how to insert meaningful game studies lessons without coming off as overbearing or tangential. Receiving free games is weird. We’re a pretty small site, but basically all it takes is one or two polite emails to get anything we want sent over. Nobody emails us to ask how the review is going if it’s taking more than a week, and nobody posts angry, anonymous comments if we write a slam piece. I guess, because we don’t have advertising (and a payroll), things are just idyllic. Also, I get a press pass to PAX East, so that’s awesome.

ODST – This is where I got myself a little too into the NGJ mess, with 800 words about what the first Halo and its pistol meant to me.

Trine – One of the best indie games I’ve played on Steam yet. Great contrast between the mage and thief characters, lame level design and reliance on “physics.”

Critter Crunch – This is where I tried to insert a lecture about puzzle games and the power of context… and failed. It feels tacked on; better luck next time. Good game!

Oh and, “Editing. Editing never changes.” Apparently having an MFA in creative writing doesn’t automatically imbue one with the ability to construct complete sentences.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. deckard47 said, on November 2, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Excellent. I have to do this too… I never remember to update my stuff. I’m glad you lied Trine, even when it started fucking with me I managed to enjoy it. I actually only used the mage and knight when I *had* to. The thief was amazing. It was like the Ninja Rope from worms, all the time, and it was amazing.


Leave a Reply

