Chungking Espresso

Re-Organization

Posted in Miscellany by Simon Ferrari on May 20, 2009

Hey readers. I’m sorry about the lack of updates. I’m 4 or 5 days in on no-cigs-attempt-number-4, and it’s going pretty well. Since it’s going pretty well, though, my brain isn’t functioning properly right now. I can’t bring myself to finish a post. In lieu of anything new to give you at the moment, I’d like to call your attention to the fact that I reorganized the categories on this blog and added a little bar for them on the right side of the screen. Now you can find a bunch of old gems you may have missed due to my lack of organization. Back with a real post soon, I hope.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. L.B. Jeffries said, on May 20, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I remember when I quit smoking one of the things I did when I wanted a cigarette was play Weird Worlds: Return to Infinite Space. It’s basically Star Control 2 except as a roguelike that takes 5 minutes to either win or die in. For some reason, I think the futile nature of the game snapped me back into focus.

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 21, 2009 at 12:59 am

      I just got Little Big Planet in the mail. I wonder if that’s futile enough to do the trick? I just passed “The Test,” which is where I buy a pack, smoke 1/4 of one cigarette, and then throw them all out the window on a crowded highway. Alleve is remarkably effective when you refuse to use it for everyday aches and pains, too. I think one more week of misery will do me, and then I’ll be back to functioning normally. Unfortunately I have that essay due for PopMatters in two days. Crunch time!

  2. Ben Abraham said, on May 26, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Best of luck with the quitting. I read somewhere once that it takes an average of 4 attempts for most people to quit. The point is to keep trying I guess.

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 26, 2009 at 4:00 pm

      Thanks Benji! I believe I’m on attempt number 5 now. I had one success before, but relapsed after four months and a new job. I’ve made it 8 or 9 days now, so most cravings are gone and I can write complete sentences again. Drinking beer and being around cigs is still hard though.


Leave a Reply

