Chungking Espresso

Brief Interlude, RTB

Posted in Miscellany, Projects by Simon Ferrari on May 4, 2009

I’ll probably be able to finish the second (slightly longer) piece of my response to the hipster discussion between Jeffries and Pixel Vixen later tonight, but Ian just sent me another proofreading job:

racing-the-beam

The opening chapters of the book, about Stella and Combat, absolutely brutalized me the first time I read them. I’m hoping that it won’t happen again, but it’s a lot harder to do this kind of thing when you’re trying to quit smoking. Pray for me.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bobby said, on May 4, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Do you ever take a break?

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 4, 2009 at 9:28 pm

      You already got into the PhD program, and you had tons of web design experience. I need to build that resume, homeboy.

  2. Nick LaLone said, on May 4, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I was going to do a few poster sessions at some social science symposiums and / conferences. You can stick these on your vita as presentations. Poster sessions basically allow us to put a paper idea down and see what others thing of it…get some feedback about design before we actually get to do the thing. You might think about doing this with some of your stuff, especially with regard to narrative design and / or gaming and the social realm. Good times!

    There are a couple conferences in Texas this year so I feel like I should do them. I wanted to try out ASA or SSSA to see what the differences in crowds were. It’d be fun to meet up with likeminded groups at these things. There’s always a huge net / comm studies through sociology and mmo crowd there. I’m sure it could be justified to get more into offline games.


Leave a comment