Chungking Espresso

1st Night With PS3

Posted in Gaming by Simon Ferrari on May 2, 2009

Tonight was my first night fooling around with my new PS3. There have been some ups and some downs.

First thing I did was download Home and get my avatar worked out. He looks nothing like me. One hours of work, and he looks less like me than my 360 avatar. Uncanny Valley or somesuch nonsense. Or the customization options are no good. Walking around the town square outside my personal apartment place, I found some people dancing and saying “Got DamMit” over and over again. It looked like a good time. No tea bagging and butt humping to be found, which was a relief after the Penny Arcade comic. They also show movies, which I knew in the back of my head but had been ignoring. I might conceivably get into Home if I meet anyone in real life or playing PS3 games that use it. Doubt I’ll spend money pimping my crib out, though.

As to the hardware itself, I love how quietly it runs. The controller is wonderful (I kind of like how slow the analog sticks rotate), and the fact that it comes with a charger (unlike my 360 ones) was a huge plus. Still no need for batteries in my apartment! Some downs: it only comes with analog cables. After a year of reading about how the PS3 was so much better than the 360 because it came with everything you needed, I was a bit nonplussed about this. Currently I’m waiting for a 30 buck set of HDMI cables to come in the mail, and the display looks kind of like stretched out shit. Another downside: no headset for talking online. Luckily, I bought a USB headset to play WoW a year ago, and since the PS3 is basically a computer it picked up the signal right away and I spent a good 5 minutes modifying my voice (neat feature, Sony).

everydayshooter

I didn’t buy any disc games (hard to find sales, and I don’t pay 60 dollars for 6-month old games), so I hit up the Playstation Network Store. The UI is a bit disgusting, but I guess it’s easier to find things than it is on the 360. Only downside? Since the definition on my TV is so low, I didn’t see the blatant “PSP game” next to some of the titles I dropped in my cart. So now I have PSP copies of Everyday Shooter and Echochrome. Which would be awesome if I owned a PSP. Kinda wished downloading one version unlocked both, but it was my fault for buying in a frenzy. It’s just that I’ve wanted PS3 indies for over a year now!

So what did I buy? I picked up Flower, Echochrome, PixelJunk Monsters, PixelJunk Eden, Noby Noby Boy, Everyday Shooter, Linger in Shadows, and the Super Stardust HD bundle. Really freaking excited about every single one. So far I’ve only ventured into Eden and Everyday Shooter. Going to take it slow with these and play them interspersed with some JRPGs on the 360. Also going to save Flower for when the HDMI cables come in. If I can bear the excitement. That’s probably all I’m buying for now, except for a second controller and Little Big Planet when my girlfriend finishes her semester (she’s wanted to play it since I first showed her one of the knit SackBoys last year). Because she’s an indie music snob, since dating me she has become an indie game snob. I think she’ll end up getting a lot more into the PS3 than the 360. Who knows?

sackboyknit1

Trophies are daunting. Unlike the 360, where I get a tangible number of points, I don’t think I care too much about these. Since most of the games I got are “art games,” I don’t think I’m going to ruin the experience by even looking at the Trophy list. I guess you get a “level” based on the Trophies you accrue, but since I’m not going to double up on games I can play on the 360, I don’t see my score ever getting that high. I did pick up a PSN ID for the blog, which took a goddamn arm and a leg. I had to create an EU PSN account, then another account on a site that created gamercards that weren’t god-awful long. Kind of annoying to deal with all that, but now I have a cute SackBoy-themed banner to go under my 360 card!

One last downside to the PS3 is the lack of people I know who own one. My friend’s list has two pending requests going, and those are the only people I know with a PS3. On top of that, they don’t really own that many games for it. So online play with people I know is kind of out of the question. A few of these downloadable indies have multiplayer support, but I don’t really know if I want to have sublime experiences with strangers. Finally, I’m on the patch and I’ve only smoked 3 cigarettes today. Here’s to hoping videogames and the love of a good woman can keep me off the damn things in the weeks to come!

Tagged with:

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nick LaLone said, on May 3, 2009 at 12:24 am

    You’d figure with the might of BLU-RAY that they’d at least stick some component cables or something in there to actually, you know, show off their mighty achievements.

    I’ve heard from some friends who write game guides for a living that they feel the 6-axis feels cheap; as if they could drop it at any second and it would shatter like glass. Did you get this impression?

    I’ll probably end up getting a ps3 when the fall semester rolls around and I end up getting some of this mighty new texas grant money I see will be heading my way.

    You know, one of these days we should Halo it up…or something.

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:20 pm

      You’re always watching a video when I log onto XBL! I guess I’ll just interrupt your viewing with a message 🙂

      • Nick LaLone said, on May 3, 2009 at 8:07 pm

        It’s true, lately i’ve been watching videos and trying to keep away a cold that turned into a respiratory infection that turned into some horrible cough / feverish escapade. I’m also trying to finish my school work! Come the 11th, i’ll be a free man (albeit very tired).

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:22 pm

      Oh yeah, the six-axis thing. First time I played Mirror’s Edge on it I was totally confused. Way too light, weird little triggers. I’ve gotten used to the heft of the thing, but the motion controls are just off. I actually kinda like the weird little triggers. I just wish there was a decent system of naming all the buttons (L1 is bumper, L2 is trigger, L3 is pushing the analog stick down? fuck that).

      • Krystian Majewski said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:30 pm

        The L1 / L2 / L3 thing is a Sony thing. Being so used to that on the PS2 I had actually a hard time getting used to the Xbox way of naming them.

      • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:37 pm

        I mean I knew it was their thing, but as somebody with UI design experience you have to see that LB, LT, and LS makes more sense. 1, 2, and 3 have nothing to do with the shapes of the buttons, or their placement.

      • Krystian Majewski said, on May 4, 2009 at 10:20 am

        I don’t know. I thought having numbers was a bit easier to understand than Bumper / Trigger / Stick.

        When I started playing Xbox, I had some REAL troubles understanding things like LB RT and whatnot. They are letter combinations and difficult to separate. Especially since you mix them up with things like LP HK and so on from Street Fighter. At the beginning, it took me always several seconds to recall which letter stands for what.

        I had less problems with the Sony system because you have a letter and a number which are easier to separate from each other.

  2. GunBlade said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:56 am

    It’s funny how the Playstation became the best place for indie…

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:25 pm

      PC is still the place. And Braid is still the king. But, yeah, I’m pretty amazed at all the wonderful stuff you can get on PSN. It’s been a tough year wanting these.

  3. L.B. Jeffries said, on May 3, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Everyday Shooter is one of those games that you play the hell out of for a while, forget about it, come back a few months later, and discover dozens of things you never noticed before. The long and bloody road to unlocking travel mode is probably worth criticizing, but man, when you finally get to the last level, it’s up there for when you unlock the last level in Rez.

    Totally worth it.

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:27 pm

      Yeah I’m getting that impression. I’m on the second-to-last level now, just hoping to unlock one more extra life so I can make it all the way through on Normal Mode. The sheer number of unlockable visual effects leads me to believe this is something I’ll be chipping away at for awhile just for the chance to see a tiny glimmer of something new and beautiful.

  4. Krystian Majewski said, on May 3, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Hey cool. I might even join you one day. Right now, I’m waiting for Sony to buckle under the poor sales and finally lower that price tag. Will try to go with the Little Big Planet bundle. Yes, we got one here in Europe. Jealous? I would be 😉

    • Simon Ferrari said, on May 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm

      I knew I could wait until Christmas for a price drop, but the time I’d spend thinking and reading about these games if I couldn’t play them is hurting me more than the 50-100 bucks I might save later.

      I want a LBG bundle! But only if it comes with larger HD, second controller, headset, and HDMI cables.

  5. Tom said, on May 4, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Now I’m going to have to pick up some of those games… I’ve been letting the PS3 languish in the presence of the new computer, but I’m sure that can’t last forever. Definitely getting LBP some time. Soon?


Leave a Reply

