Chungking Espresso

I’m A PC

Posted in Miscellany by Simon Ferrari on February 12, 2009

Yesterday I did this:

Bought an external hard drive (750 GB Western Digital)

Partitioned this (250 for Mac backup, 250 for Mac data, 250 for PC backup and data)

Partitioned my laptops internal hard drive (130 for Mac, 60 for PC)

Installed Windows Vista

Installed Boot Camp and Mac drivers on Vista

Created a Steam Account

All for this goal: Downloaded Unreal 2k4 and UnrealEd

What’s the upshot of this? Now I can play all the indie games I wanted to that were PC-only. I don’t really have the video cards of the memory to play shit like Crysis, but I’m excited about the prospects of PC gaming nonetheless. Also, what the hell is everybody’s problem with Vista? I’m enjoying it. The only thing I don’t like is that they black-boxed Disk Defragmenting. For me, the best part of having a PC is being able to watch it reorganize itself because it insists on keeping traces of everything you get rid of. They’ve taken this pleasure away from me.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. deckard47 said, on February 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Way to go! There are a ton of sweet mods out there for U2K4. If you haven’t checked it out yet, Alien Swarm (I think?)is amazing, and if you like it I’d seriously considering picking up my own copy to play with you. It’s like Gauntlet meets Aliens but _free_.

  2. chungkingespresso said, on February 14, 2009 at 12:00 am

    I’m totally down for that. I got it for the 3d engine, but it would definitely help to play some mods and see what’s possible before I get to work on it myself.

    I have to take that laser gun model I made and basically make a movie out of it (which is weird because I’ll only be able to play through it in first person but I can record it as a 3rd person machinima). I’m going to recreate the story of that kid who shot his parents because they took Halo 3 away from him.

    I’ve made movies before, so hopefully it won’t suck as much as it could. But I always plan for the worst.

    I’ll check out Alien Swarm this weekend and get back in touch on that!

  3. maxxxx said, on February 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Yeah Vista is better than XP. Fools be frontin’


Leave a Reply

