Chungking Espresso

my top-3

Posted in Gaming by Simon Ferrari on February 14, 2008

 Here are my favorite three games (listed from first to third) from each system I played extensively, ranked based on my enjoyment and time spent playing them:

 NES: Final Fantasy, Metroid, Zelda 2: Link’s Adventure

SNES: Chrono Trigger, Secret of Mana, Final Fantasy III

N64: Mario 64, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 ::EDIT:: Ocarina of Time fits in here somewhere!

PS2: Shadow of the Colossus, God of War, GTA San Andreas

GameCube: Mario Kart Double Dash, Super Smash Brothers Melee, Metroid Prime I

XBOX: Morrowind, Knights of the Old Republic, Halo

Wii: Twilight Princess, Resident Evil 4, and definitely NOT Mario Galaxy

XBOX 360: Mass Effect, Oblivion, Halo 3

 So please post comments if you strongly agree or disagree with my choices. I’d like to see which games you enjoyed most, especially from the Super Nintendo and the 360.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gypsy said, on February 14, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Halo 3? Oh come on SIMON. It’s another Halo, wonderfully designed and quite smooth, but top 3?
    Where’s Bioshock? Yeah, a lot like SS3 but shit, what a creative story and amazing AMAZING graphics.

    I agree with Mass Effect though.

  2. chungkingespresso said, on February 14, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Basically I have a problem with being able to completely finish a game, on hard, by mindlessly running around hacking cameras and turrets and changing my ammo back and forth between armored and unarmored. I think that without the vita-chambers this game might’ve captured my interest and frustrated me a bit. And I did see that they added the achievement for turning them off later on. But the downloadable content was too little, too late. And you’re telling me that the “genius” team behind System Shock couldn’t come up with a single multiplayer mode? I mean look at Kane and Lynch: it was a crummy 5 hours of crappy AI and GTA-quality 3rd person shooting, but then you get online and there’s this clever little heist simulator that’s actually better than the single-player and coop game. You can’t make single-player-only games these days, end of story.

    Speaking of story: I never quite learned how they built a city underwater or why they all went crazy and killed each other. And don’t get me started on the boss/ending. The graphics were very good though, okay. And yes Halo 3 isn’t even the best Halo, but it’s the best game for getting drunk with any random group of friends and playing forever and ever (which is why it beats CoD4 for me).

  3. randy said, on February 19, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    *high five* for GTA San Andreas Only good GTA imo.

    p.s. You can’t count Morrowind unless you have logged over 100 hours!

  4. Maaaax said, on February 19, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Chrono Trigger FTW! I don’t even like Japanese RPGs anymore, but I still think it’s one of the most fun games ever. Plus it has some of the best graphics. And also the best soundtrack. Not to mention the sweet (if contrived) story. And…everything.

    Mario Kart 64 is nigh unplayable to me. I find it incredibly not fun. Its stiff mechanics are so horrid when compared to how natural and fluid Double Dash!!’s are (you HAVE to use both !s when naming that game).

    I feel like the SNES list is a bit RPG overkill…the omission of Super Metroid in a list featuring Metroid and Metroid prime seems especially suspect to me.

    Also, Vice City is WAY better than San Andreas. San Andreas was such overkill in terms of sprawl; Vice City seemed just right to me.

  5. chungkingespresso said, on February 19, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Let’s see… I totally agree on Mario Kart 64 there; it pretty much made the list just because of how dutifully I played it at the time. Don’t think I’ve even gone back to it since the XBOX came out. But back then my two little middle school best friends and I played that game for hours on time – the only amount of coop gaming that ever really matched the time I spent playing Halo 1 and Double Dash !! with people.

    The reason for my RPG love with the SNES was because that’s all I really played at the time, and it’s not a system that I really went back and enjoyed later on like I did when it became retro cool to play the NES. And Super Metroid was a yawner as far as my memory of it goes. Also remember that Chrono Trigger had sweet combo moves unlike any game I’d played up till then and like tons of freakin’ endings.

    As far as GTA is concerned… I do agree that Vice City had a lot more going for it as far as art direction, music, and the feel of a manageable, familiar city. But San Andreas is so epic in every way that I can’t help but applaud the variety and span (of space, missions, cars, sidequests). You get a rocket pack! And an airfield! And Peter Fonda!

  6. brantley said, on February 20, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Goldeneye beat out Ocarina of Time? Simon, please expound.

  7. chungkingespresso said, on February 20, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    You’re right, Ocarina of Time! I knew I forgot something. Kart is off.


Leave a Reply

